5 chapstick reviews

I thought long and hard about a first post that encompasses everything I want this blog to be, my hopes and dreams for this space that I share with the world. I wanted to write about something important, something that affects everyone… so I decided I would review my latest chapstick purchases and how they measure up. A big ‘LOL’ at me, right?

I figured chapstick is relatively important and dry/cracked lips affect everyone, right? So instead of wasting $3ish dollars at a time at Walgreens in search of the perfect chapstick, I did it for you!

1. EOS Smooth Sphere Lip Balm 

1 out of 5 Stars

eos egg

This brand and particularly this chapstick has exploded over the past few years. Most of my friends call it the “egg” and I admit to purchasing a few before totally ruling it out.  It is averagely price (2.69 Walmart, 2.99 Target). After using flavors “lemon drop” and “sweet mint” I have to say they both smell good and distribute a perfect amount onto your lips but it doesn’t last. I found I was almost constantly reapplying and the product left my lips more dry than if I didn’t use it at all. In addition, you can only use a limited amount (about half) of the product before delaying it ‘unreachable’ with your puckers because of the unfortunate shape. Then you spend most of your last days with the product scraping your lips with the plastic trying to make the most out of your money. Sorry but overall folks, I would not rate this chapstick egg as ‘egg-cellent’.

2. Nivea A Kiss of Milk and Honey

3 out of 5 stars

Nivea-A-Kiss-of-Milk-and-Honey-SoothingLip-Care

First of all doesn’t the name sound soft and natural (the way a chapstick should be) so points for that! This chapstick is a little cheaper (2.39 Walgreens, 2.59 Walmart) and has a little bit of an odd smell but overall it is an average chapstick, it leaves your lips looking hydrated but not glossy and doesn’t try out your lips more if you don’t reapply. I’m not a huge fan, but I’m not hating either.

3. Vaseline Lip Therpy Rosy Lips

2.5 out of 5 stars

vaseline

When I saw this little guy I was a sucker for its cute, compact packaging and the idea of subtle shine with a light pink tint. The first downfall is that you have to put your finger in to the jar in order to apply the product to your lips. I don’t know about you guys but this is major turn off when it comes to chapsticks, giving the likelihood of hand cleanliness during times of application. Also, the container lid is not, I repeat IS NOT reliable and will spill out in your purse. Overall, the product is great but the packaging and application ruins it.

 

4. C.O. BIGELOW Rose Salve

3.5 out of 5 stars

C.O._Bigelow_Rose_Salve_Review

I love the vintage look of this packaging, of course the downfall is the same as the vaseline packaging is that is promotes product to hand to lip contact rather than a direct (and clean) product to lip route. However, I was able to put up the sides to my mouth and do a direct application so get creative people! This product is the most expensive (5.5o Bath and Body Works) on the list because it is a fancy, classic brand that claims to be versitle in areas of application (I never applied anywhere but my lips though) also it smells delightful (like roses, really!!). Overall, I loved the way this salve made my lips feel, so smooth and soft but after awhile I started to realize the product is very glossy, which is fine but whenever I was wearing a tshirt I felt a bit overdone.

5. Burt’s Bees Lip Balm Wild Cherry

5 out of 5 stars

Wild-Cherry

This lovely product is on the reasonably priced side (Target 2.99, Ulta 3.29) and a trusted brand for natural products. The lip balm goes on smooth, leaves a slight gloss and smells incredible. There is really not much else to it folks, this will “bee” the winner!

Thanks for reading! I wish you all happy lips!

****I do not own rights to any of these photos, all from the internet***

Leave a Reply

