Choosing Truth

The other day I walked out of the office building I work at, walked to my car, unlocked it, hopped in, selected a great jam song and took off.
It was an ordinary occurrence until I noticed something out of the ordinary.
On my windshield was a white piece of paper, securely fastened under my windshield wiper.
Instantly, I was filled with annoyance because I assumed it was a parking ticket. I started shouting out all the reasons why I was parked correctly and why these things always happen to me in my head. Then, looking closer at the paper I started to realize the uneven sides fraying in the wind, it had to be a hand written note.
Instantly, I was filled with fear that someone hit my car, scratched the side, etc and left a note. I was overcome by stress, anxiety, fear and annoyance during my 10 minute car ride. Especially because I was on the interstate for the most part of the drive and I was also scared the note would fly off my car and I would never know what it said.
Finally, I arrived at my destination, Baylor High School where I was picking up one of my Young Life girls. I pulled over near the side walk where she was standing and before I could even greet her I asked her to reach over and hand me the dreaded note on the windshield. She grabbed the note, briefly reading it and she smiled before handing it to me.
The note said “You are so beautiful.”
I froze.
It was almost as if all my emotions built up inside my head were released and I could breath again, no longer crippling with the anxiety.
Does this ever happen to you?
You take a small portion of reality and question it until it turns into a exaggerated story with no truth.
Our brains were built this way. We use context clues based on our past experiences and prior knowledge in order to form a solution, a result, an answer.
We mentally can not be satisfied with the idea of the unknown.
This is why it is so easy to fill our brain with things that are not truth, misconceptions and just straight up lies.
What does this say about who we think we are if it is easier to comprehend these terrible things instead of just saying to ourselves, “I don’t know what this/that means and I’m not going to assume.” Instead of telling myself something that will just satisfy the unknown, I want to only tell myself the answer to every question honestly and truthfully.

IMG_8352 Also, since we can not fear the unknown, our biggest fears are actually things that have already happened to us (things that are known).
Whoa. Take that in for a second…
The only things you are afraid of are things you have already overcome.
For example, in this silly case I have been in a situation where someone has hit my car and then drove off so that’s why I thought the note was from a similar incident. Also, I have received several undeserved tickets which had lengthy and annoying appeal processes. I know what those experiences were like and my prior knowledge tells me it wasn’t fun, which is why I was so paranoid it would happen again.

Where else does this happen in our lives?
Do you not trust your boyfriend, not because he hasn’t given you a reason to but because you were cheated on in the past?
Are you scared you will end up being unemployed and struggle financially, not because you are not responsible but because you grew up poor?
It’s sad that I could write all day about my fears and where the root of them lie.

So, what does the bible say about all this?
Well God certainly proves to us that we are not alone.
While the anxiety and stress which stems from fear seems crippling, Jesus has shown us time and time again that He is with us.
Think about this for a second- Everything painful, broken, hurtful, scary, depressing and isolating thing that has ever happened or will happen to us in this earthly world- Jesus has experienced.
He has gone before us by experiencing both emotional and physically beatings brought on His own people so that when we are hurting and feel like no one understands He can whisper to us “Me too, I’ve been there, I hear you, I see you, I love you.”

I want to share with you some of my favorite, freeing and truth shouting verses about fear. Think about how fear, anxiety and stress could vanish if we could combat it by repeating and mediating on The Word.
1 John 4:18 “There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear.”
He drowns our fear in perfect love.

1 Peter 5:7 “Cast all your anxieties on Him, because He cares for you.”
God cares so much He sent His flawless son, Jesus to bare it all.

Isaiah 41:10 “Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”
You are not alone, I am with you.

John 16:33 “Take heart, I have overcome the world.”
He has gone before you and conquered all.

I hope you are just as delightfully surprised by truth just as I was when I assumed the worst from the note on my car.
What has happened in your life that you think is a ticket but, ends up being a sweet note?

I wish I could write a million “You are so beautiful” notes and put them on all of your cars!! I also hope that you see Jesus, like I did in my Young Life girl the other day who smiles and says “breathe, because everything will be okay.”
Let’s choose truth today.

Leave a Reply

